DepicT! ’10 Winners Announced!

Following a fantastic sold-out DepicT! Showcase at Watershed for the 16th Encounters International Film Festival, filmmakers and guests gathered on Saturday evening at Watershed for a lively Awards Ceremony hosted by Shooting People head honcho James Mullighan to learn who’d scooped this year’s prizes.

Juror David Sproxton of Aardman Animations presented the main DepicT! ’10 Award of £1,500 to Aiden McAteer for his film The Gentleman’s Guide to Villainy “for its classic set-up, engaging style, comic timing, great pay-off and reference to the perils of contemporary rail travel.” The jury also decided to give a special mention to Nicholas and Kenneth Mitchell’s One Man’s Walk for its music, energy and imaginative use of images married to the voice over.

BAFTA winning animator Emma Lazenby, also a member of this year’s jury announced the British Special Mention Award winner Tim Frost for “his beautiful design and animation in this chirpy short short” When a Hen Eats a Bee. He will receive a year-long package of career development support from BAFTA, NFTS, the British Council, Shooting People and Arts Alliance. “I’m thrilled that the jury recognised the scientific integrity of When a Hen Eats a Bee, and this will spur me on to make more films” said Tim Frost about winning the Award. He will be keeping a blog on his activities throughout the year.

Last but not least, DepicT! winner Michael Davies presented the Shooting People DepicT! Audience Award to the winner as chosen by you, to Tortellini by Margherita Ferri (Italy.) We had 1345 ratings towards the prize, so thank you to everyone who took the time to tell us what you thought. Margherita will receive a lifetime membership to Shooting People, along with a selection of DVDs and other goodies.

Huge congratulations to all three, as well as to all the DepicT! shortlisted filmmakers. We’d also like to thank the jury for their work in coming to decisions on this fine selection of films chosen from just under 400 films submitted from 39 countries. The jury felt that the films were “all worthy to be shortlisted”, which resulted in a very lively discussion. The jury were: David Sproxton, Co-Founder and Executive Director of Aardman Animations, Emma Lazenby, BAFTA-winning short filmmaker (Mother of Many, Best Animated Short 2010), Nik Powell, Film Producer, Director of the National Film and Television School and Deputy Chair of BAFTA Film Committee, Christine Bardsley, Head of Film for the British Council and Michael Davies, DepicT! ‘08-winning filmmaker (What’s Virgin Mean?)

A very big thank you to the sponsors and supporters of DepicT! who enable us to run the competition, and also to all the filmmakers who submitted their 90 second films without which we wouldn’t have a competition! If you’re thinking ahead to next year already, we anticipate DepicT! 2011 will launch at the beginning of April, with the deadline in early September.

If you haven’t yet had a chance to see the 2010 shortlisted films yet, you can watch them all here.

Posted on 23 Nov 2010 at 9:24 pm.

Tags: ,

More News

«   »