Introducing the Depict 2021 Jury

Depict Jury 2021

We are delighted to announce the Depict 2021 jury includes Award winning Artist, Photographer and Film maker Ravi Deepres on behalf of The Royal Photographic Society, Head of BFI NETWORK (interim) James Weddup, Channel 4 Commissioning Editor for Arts and Topical Specialist Factual Channel 4, Shaminder Nahal, Co-Founder and Trustee of Aardman Animations David Sproxton and National Film and Television School Head of Producing Chris Auty.

The Jury select the main Depict Award of £1,500, the Royal Photographic Society Award of £1,000, the Depict British Award, a talent development package supported by BFI NETWORK, NFTS and BAFTA and the Depict Random Acts Award, priceless exposure and mentoring c/o Channel 4 Random Acts.

You can vote towards the Depict IMDbPro Audience Award at open until Thu 30 Sept 18.30 (BST)

Save the date: On Thu 30 Sept 6pm, join Watershed Cinema Curator Mark Cosgrove, members of the Depict Jury and some of the filmmakers involved for a special online Watchalong of this year’s shortlist followed by the Depict 2021 Awards presentation streaming on Watershed’s YouTube Channel. Get involved!

Ravi Deepres – Artist, Photographer and Film maker

On behalf of The Royal Photographic Society

Ravi Deepress is an Award winning Artist, Photographer and Film maker with an international reputation for focusing on the intersection of the still and moving image. His work is often a primal and sensory experience and embraces the potential of collaboration, pushing the boundaries of innovative technology in creating new artistic languages. He has collaborated with globally renowned choreographers, directors, musicians such as Wayne McGregor, Saburo Teshigawara, Phyllida Lloyd, Michael Clark, Zoviet France and Shobana Jeyasingh. His film design creations for stage, commissions, exhibitions, broadcast have been shown at institutions including Palais Garnier, Magnum photos, Tate Britain, Ikon Gallery, Royal Opera House, ICA, BBC and Channel 4.

Shaminder Nahal – Commissioning Editor for Arts and Topical Specialist Factual Channel 4

Shaminder Nahal oversees the Grayson Perry series including the recent Grayson’s Art Club. She also commissioned 100 Vaginas, Superkids: Breaking Away from Care with Lemn Sissay, The Curry House Kid with Akram. Previously, she was Deputy Editor of Channel 4 News and Deputy Editor of the BBC’s Newsnight.

James Weddup – Head of BFI NETWORK (Interim)

James is the interim Head of BFI NETWORK, steering the project into 2022. He has been at the BFI for six years, managing NETWORK projects and partnerships and working with the Talent Executives across the UK. He also has a focus on the Film Fund’s documentary funding delivered through the BFI Doc Society Fund. James joined the BFI from the role of Grants Manager at the British Museum, and previously spent two years teaching English Literature at the University of Virginia and worked for the National Theatre’s fundraising team.

David Sproxton – Aardman Animations Co-Founder and Trustee

David Sproxton is the co-founder of Aardman. Together with co-founder Peter Lord, he has overseen the development of the company from a two-man partnership to one of the pre-eminent animation houses in the industry. He has now stepped back from his role of Managing Director, having taken the company into Employee Ownership and now sits on the Aardman Trustee Board, whilst he pursues a number of other interests.

Chris Auty – National Film and Television School Head of Producing

Former film critic Chris Auty has produced films including Stealing Beauty, My Summer of Love, and 24 Hour Party People and is currently Head of Producing at NFTS. He sits on the governing board of the European Film Academy and has launched a new course Creative Business for Entrepreneurs and Executives, backed by the NFTS, Ingenious Media, and Sir Richard Branson.

Posted on 23 Sep 2021 at 4:04 pm.


More News

«   »